Logotype Home
© Lithgow & District Family History Society Inc.         Last updated 21 Feb 2017

Phone number (during

opening hours)

+61 (02) 6353 1089

Resource centre & meeting


Our resource centre/library and meeting rooms are in the Ewen Smith Memorial Hall situated on the corner of Tank & Donald/Guy Sts in Lithgow NSW.  Street view on Google maps:  http://g.co/maps/gwy8

Opening hours

Tuesday 6—9pm Friday 10am—4pm (except Good Friday)1st Saturday of the month (except Easter Saturday & January) 10am—4pm

Research inquiry

Download a research inquiry form


Please send postal inquiries to: The Secretary LDFHS Inc PO Box 516 Lithgow 2790 Membership fees Fees for the year 1 March 2017 to end of February 2018 are: Joining fee: nil. Membership fee: $45 (journals sent by Australia Post; $40 (journals sent by email).    Membership entitlements include 3 journals per year, free admission to LDFHS Resource Centre during opening hours including assistance with research enquiries, 3 hours free research by the LDFHS research officer for members who live outside Lithgow City Council area. Non-members’ research at the Resource Centre costs $10 per person on Tuesday evening & $20 on Friday & Saturday. Digital copying is allowed.


Download a membership application

Order form & Payment


To download a payment form click here  

Lithgow & District Family History Society


Contact details:

2017 Yvonne Jenkins Memorial Award

Our lives are a kaleidoscope, an intermingling of colourful episodes and shadows of memories past.  Often these memories are never recorded, or are forgotten over the years. Details of an event not recorded in the newspaper of the day, how we felt during a family crisis, or at a celebration of national or local significance, even the birth of a sibling escape being recorded by most of us. The 2017 Yvonne Jenkins Memorial Award essay competition title ‘An important time in my life was…..’ is an opportunity to choose one of those memories within the framework of a 1,000 word essay to be submitted to the Lithgow & District Family History Society by 30th April 2017. The winner of the Yvonne Jenkins Memorial Award competition will be announced during National Family History month in August 2017. The award is held annually in memory of Yvonne Jenkins, founder of the Society, who was well known for her work as an author, artist and family and local historian. An entry form can be downloaded here or may be obtained by writing to the Secretary, PO Box 516, Lithgow NSW 2790.

Annual LDFHS Christmas party held recently at the

home of Helen & Rob Taylor.